top of page
Search
  • upworkgoddess

Can you make money on Upwork?



When I first started using Upwork I was thrilled. I started getting jobs right away but I quickly found I was spending hours of time writing content for nitpicky people and not making very much for my time so I abandoned it.

But then I came back to it almost a year later and I have loved my experience there. I do have a few tips. If you see a job posting that's overly demanding skip right past it. I don't enjoy working with demanding and cheap clients.

Look for the jobs that are well suited for you. Don't pitch every job. You will end up hating and not do as well.

Also, work on your speed if you are a writer. Writing content fast takes practice. When I first started writing on Upwork a blog post would take me the entire day and sometimes only pay $25. Definitely not worth it. But, the more I practiced the faster I got. I can now write a blog post in a couple of hours typically. Some topics I can write about in an hour. Make sure you are making enough for it to be worth your time or you will burn out.

When you get started you have to make a lot of pitches but once you have some good reviews it gets easier. Practice your pitching. If your pitch is boring and you don't sell yourself you won't get the job. Fortunately for me, I have great work experience when it comes to writing. I also own my own SEO consulting business in Albuquerque so that helps me with credibility.

At my business, Badass Web Goddess I do web design, but I never pitch web design jobs on Upwork. That's a really competitive space. I can almost always get SEO writing jobs there because I am good at it. I keep clients because I am responsive and handle criticism well. Sometimes when you first start writing for someone they will nitpick everything, but once you write for them a w

hile you learn what they want and they keep coming back to you.

This week I have written 5 blog posts for clients I have found on Upwork and I am working on an SEO project this weekend for another Upwork client.

If you do SEO or write, it's a good way to make money.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page